Raven Lunatick

All things random and shiny

How Do You Structure Your Daily Writing?

Let’s face it: I am an organizational nightmare.

Up until just now I have been opening my WIP file and diving in wherever. Three quarters of the time I end up fiddling with stuff that I wrote days ago, and the other 0ne quarter is just about all spent on Reddit, cruising Wikipedia, or lost on TV Tropes, leaving something like 1/20th of a quarter to write actual new material.

tumblr_mipf90grmW1rbj0tto1_500

Clearly that isn’t working.

To prevent myself from wasting hours pondering the relative merits of whispering breeze, murmur, and susurrus, and to just write something frigging new instead of rehashing the same 4 paragraphs over and over, this is my plan: I am going to have a separate dated file for every day’s writing. That way every day is fresh, I don’t even get to peek at yesterday’s work, and I can track what I have done day by day to see if any patterns emerge.

So, other word slogging-type people, how do you organize your writing? I know some of you are quite prolific. How do you guys do it?

3 comments on “How Do You Structure Your Daily Writing?

  1. mikes75
    May 16, 2013

    For me, it’s all about forward momentum. I highlight the last line I write in red, and take that as a “Do Not Cross” line.

    • Raven
      May 22, 2013

      That’s a good idea. I just keep messing with the old stuff instead of writing new stuff. :/

      • mikes75
        May 22, 2013

        Yeah, messing with the old stuff is how I wasted five hours rewriting a paragraph I now think I’m going to end up cutting anyway. I had to take a don’t-look-back approach or I was never going to get off the first page.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2013 by in writing and tagged , , , .

Too-wit! Too-woo!

  • Is mom writing? Time for daughter 2 to rant about english and its whimsical spelling 'rules' #amwriting 13 hours ago
  • @scalzi Can you delete my tweet? I need some validation. 15 hours ago
  • RT @scalzi: Commenter: (posts stupid on my site) Me: (Mallets it) Commenter: YOU DELETING MY COMMENT VALIDATES IT The stupid are never not … 15 hours ago
  • RT @scalzi: Yes. RT @leverus: Why did I wait so long to read HORNS? Raw, funny, honest, weird, and moves like a freight train. What a great… 15 hours ago
  • If time ran in reverse would we experience life from death to birth, or remember backward into the future? #helpme #dailydeepity 15 hours ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers

